Tackling Addiction- Demi Lovato and our own lives.

Most of you will have heard that Demi Lovato has been rushed to hospital after a possible heroine overdose. I love Demi and wish so much that she comes out of this strong once again. Addiction has affected my life very very greatly, and I therefore have a few words to say about what I have learned in dealing with the problems that it can cause.

When somebody close to you is addicted to something like alcohol or another drug, it can seem like they do not care about anything else. It can seem like they don’t care about you. After years of battling with these kind of thoughts, I finally believe that it’s nothing personal. That person is not putting his/her addiction before you purposefully. In my case, I know that they want to put me first with all of their heart. But it’s an illness. Once addicted to something severely, it takes over you and can subsequently come before anything else in your life.

I have seen people try over and over again to break their addiction, and it can sometimes look and feel completely hopeless. But there is always hope. No matter how many times you feel let down or disappointed, always remain hopeful. With the right kind of help, and true determination, people can get better. And if you always keep believing in someone, they may one day start to believe in themselves too.

The problem with this however, is that the person has to want the help. This can be the most frustrating part, and I will admit that it’s upsetting when someone won’t accept and face the help that they need. It is at this moment that I try to understand why the person became addicted in the first place. There is usually a reason (or many reasons) why somebody ends up addicted. Demi, for example, had a very difficult childhood, and turned to things like drugs because she felt as though there was nowhere else to turn. Desperation is usually the cause. Understanding and reminding yourself of this helps to understand how much that person has to face to tackle their addiction. It’s hardly ever a case of ‘just stop smoking!’ Understanding, or trying to understand, can lead to conversations with the addicted person that may help them to understand themselves. And it may even help them to begin thinking of getting some help.

Again, my thoughts are with Demi and I truly believe that she is strong enough to make a full recovery. If addiction has affected your life, try to be understanding and patient and it may lead to better things.

Sending hugs, Kiayah xxx

Leave a comment